BBC Unveils Nominees for 2010 Sports Personality of the Year Award!

Travel Ideas

Share on Social!

Posted by Matt

2010 has been a fantastic year for British sport, with the Grand National, the Heavyweight Boxing Title and the Premier League of Darts all being won by UK sporting stars. As well as this, 2010 has seen a Brit take the world number 1 golfing spot, an excellent UK performance at the Commonwealth Games and fantastic British representation at the Tour de France.

All this means that the 2010 Sports Personality of the Year Award is going to be highly contested by an array of UK sporting greats. This year the glittering award ceremony will be held at the massive Birmingham LG Arena on Sunday 19th of December and the 10 sporting stars up for coveted award are:

Mark Cavendish – Cyclist

Tom Daley – Diver

Jessica Ennis – heptathlete

David Haye – Boxer

AP McCoy – Jockey

Graeme McDowell – Golfer

Graeme Swann – Cricketer

Phil Taylor – Dart Player

Lee Westwood – Golfer

Amy Williams – Bob Skeleton

As ever the Sports Personality of the year Award will be decided by the British public, with voting taking place on the night of the awards. The ceremony in Birmingham will also include presentations for many other sporting awards, including Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Young Personality of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

So who will win? Well if last year’s award ceremony is anything to go by then no one can be ruled out or pegged as favourite. In 2009 the ageing Manchester United star Ryan Giggs was the surprise winner, beating the like of F1 World Champion Jenson Button and the British Tennis Number 1 Andy Murray to the award.

Who are you backing to win the 2010 Sports Personality of the Year Award? And is anyone going to Birmingham to watch the award ceremony?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *